Just like in days past, small Quebec shops and boutiques line the streets in Tadoussac. Locally-produced handicrafts, beautiful works of art, jewellery and regional food specialties are all available. The village also has a number of small restaurants for all tastes and budgets.

Other attractions in the Village:

Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre (CIMM)

Learn about the whales that live in the St. Lawrence River. Naturalists from the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) share their knowledge on whale behaviour, reproduction, feeding habits and migration.

Visit the CIMM website: www.gremm.org

Maison des Dunes - Moulin Baude

The marine terrace interpretation centre will take you through the history of the area's unique geography.

Chauvin Fur Trading Post

William Hugh Coverdale, avid ethnographer and former owner of Hôtel Tadoussac, had a replica of the first French settlement building, dating back to 1600, constructed next to the hotel. Learn about the history of the Aboriginal people. Relive the meeting between the Montagnais and Europeans, as well as the widespread trade of furs and animal oil, a common fuel at the time.

Tadoussac Chapel

Also known as the "Indians' Chapel" because it was built by Jesuit missionaries in their effort to convert the Montagnais to Christianity. Located near Hôtel Tadoussac, this chapel is the oldest wooden church in Canada and still has some of the original religious items used when the chapel was first constructed over two and a half centuries ago.

Click to enlarge

Comme autrefois, plusieurs petites boutiques bordent les rues de Tadoussac. Elles offrent de jolis souvenirs, pièces d'artisanat local, objets d’art, bijoux et spécialités culinaires de la région. Le village compte également un bon nombre de petits restaurants et cafés pour tous les goûts et budgets.

Autres attraits du village:

Centre d'interprétation des mammifères marins (CIMM)

Approfondissez vos connaissances sur les baleines du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Les naturalistes du Groupe de recherche et d'éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM) partagent leurs connaissances acquises depuis 20 ans au contact de ces animaux fabuleux : comportement, reproduction, alimentation et migration.

www.gremm.org

Maison des Dunes - Moulin Baude

Ce centre d'interprétation des terrasses marines vous révélera le passé naturel immémorial de ce lieu plutôt mystérieux sous nos latitudes.

Poste de traite Chauvin

William Hugh Coverdale, ethnographe passionné et ancien propriétaire de l'Hôtel Tadoussac, fit construire en bordure de l'Hôtel une reproduction du premier établissement français en Amérique datant de l’année 1600. Remontez le fil de l'histoire des peuples autochtones. Découvrez la rencontre et le négoce entre Montagnais et Européens, l'épopée de la traite des fourrures et du commerce des huiles d'origines animales, le pétrole de l'époque.

Petite chapelle de Tadoussac

Voisine de l'Hôtel Tadoussac dont elle partage d'ailleurs les couleurs, la Petite chapelle de Tadoussac, aussi appelée la « Chapelle des Indiens », fut édifiée par les missionnaires jésuites dans leurs efforts de conversion des Montagnais. La Petite chapelle de Tadoussac est la plus ancienne église de bois au Canada et sert aussi d'écrin à une collection unique d'objets religieux d'origine.